Tina Fey’s Bossypants

I have been a long time fan of Tina Fey. I binge-watched 30 Rock when I was going through a very difficult time in my life, and Liz Lemon’s eccentricity helped me feel okay about myself. I am also interested in the art of improvisation and its various implications in real life. (This is just one example.) That being said, I am not a fan of biographical, non-fictional books. Especially comedic writing is hard to be a hit with me. I still decided to give Bossypants a try.

There was little to not like about this book. The length is average, most of the chapters are short. Fey is self-deprecating and her humor is underhanded yet likable. If I were the editor, I would have strongly advised her against including the chapter where she replies to rude comments about her on the internet. It was one chapter in a book full of light-hearted, jovial anecdotes that rang mean  and below Fey’s dignity. Or maybe there was a purpose to it that was lost on me.

Fey shares a lot of personal and professional background in the book. There is a lot to her that makes one want her to be your sarcastic and smart best friend. While details about her humble beginnings are nice, the insights into the inner workings of an improv show like SNL are even more interesting and absurd. Fey must have done something right to not just survive, but flourish in the male-dominated world of comedy. It was also a pleasure to go back to the time of the historical 2008 presidential elections, when Fey’s likeness to Vice Presidential candidate Sarah Palin proved to be a clincher not just in the world of comedy, but also in the results for that year’s election.

All in all, this would make for a great airplane read. Pick it up before your next flight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

