Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

This is going to be a short one. I really don’t remember how long I’ve had David Sedaris’s Me Talk Pretty One Day by my bedside. It has to be years, really. I don’t know if more of you do this – but there are times when I know I’m going to like a book, I begin reading it, and yet I can never manage to finish it. I think one of the reasons this happened is because this book is a collection of short, humorous essays. So it was easy to keep it down and not get back to it, and just as easy to pick it up months later and not feel confused. Now that I’m on a break from studies, I managed to finally read it all! Phew! A more dedicated reader would, however, finish this book in a matter of days.

Sedaris has a huge following amongst all kinds of readers, and although I’ve seen him on TV, reading excerpts, and found him utterly hilarious, this was his first book I’ve read! And I will recommend it to anyone. Sedaris is a writer with so much ease, you sometimes don’t know what hit you! There were times I re-read several lines just to understand the humor, let it sink, and truly savor it. Then there were times when I had to stop reading because I was still laughing from what I had read a few lines ago. Although the book is mostly funny, there were chapters that surprised me with their poignancy (for ex. “Remembering My Childhood on the Continent of Africa.”) Sedaris is a truly gifted writer. And I can’t wait to read, or maybe listen to his other books.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

  1. Navina says:

    I am currently reading his squirrel seeks chipmunk. It is so funny!

Leave a Reply

