Quick Reviews

I disappear from here when either of these two things happen – (a) I’m not reading at all, or (b) I am reading a lot. I am happy to report, that although most of the times it’s option (a), this time I absconded due to option (b). Since most of my readings happened one after the other, I had no down time to review and record all the books, so I’ve decided to do a quick, one/two-line review of each book:

Sula by Toni Morrison – Morrison remains one of my favorite writers, because re-reading this after almost 10 years was just as great as the first time around. No one can take you into a different world, and yet remain true to human feelings, like Morrison can.

Meridian by Alice Walker – An early work by another favorite writer, this one is quite different from her other books I have read, but a great look into a Civil Rights Activist’s life.

Clear Light of Day by Anita Desai – My first full-length Desai, and I loved it – subtle, lyrical, complicated. A great read if you like Indian fiction in English

Desirable Daughters by Bharati Mukherjee – This book boggled me – it came across as a pulpy, detective novel in the garb of serious fiction. It was over-bearing and needlessly lengthy.

Bombay Talkie by Ameena Meer – Did not like it. One of those books that tries to be an exposé of the Indian upper-class, but ends up being superficial and stereotypes everyone.

Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Danticat – Again, re-read this beautifully written book about three generations of mothers and daughters and their complex relationships. Set in Haiti and New York.

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

