Bapsi Sidhwa’s Ice-Candy Man

 

Have you ever purchased a book, forgot you had it, and later found it hiding somewhere beneath a mess? I’ve done that several times, but the problem with Ice-Candy Man was that I remembered having left it in India and couldn’t bring myself to buy another copy in the US. I wanted to read the book because I enjoyed the movie so much, in spite of not being a fan of Deepa Mehta’s style, that I knew there had to be a powerful story behind the movie.

 

Initially, I was pleasantly surprised at how true the movie stays to the book. Subtle nuances are clearly translated into the movie – even minor character definitions. Although Ice-Candy man and the Masseur might not look in the movie as they are described in the book, nor Nandita Das’s Ayah make a convincing 18 year old, I could not find faults in the way the movie portrayed the characters – pat down to Lenny’s mother’s wavy, short bob described somewhere near the end of the book. To cut a long story short, I was very impressed with the way Mehta brought the book to life in the movie. Rarely has a movie interpretation of a book pleased me so much. Or in this case, vice versa.

However, can you imagine how surprised I was when the movie’s end arrives in the book only half-way through the author’s narration. I wondered why the movie does not tell us what I was to read on? Was the rest of the book so boring? Did it not mesh well? I kept reading, of course, and realized that I was glad the movie ended where it did. And at the same time, I was not upset with what happens later in the book. While the movie focuses on the love triangle between Ayah, Ice-Candy man and Masseur with the violent Indo-Pak division as a backdrop, the book is primarily about Lenny and her involvement with Ayah and Ice-Candy man. The movie leaves us wondering what happened to the kidnapped Ayah, Lenny telling us that she either became a prostitute, or died, or married Ice-Candy man, and that she never found out. But in the book Lenny finds out what happens to Ayah. And is there a better reason I could give you to read the book? And if you haven’t seen the movie, here’s me telling you, go see it.

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bapsi Sidhwa’s Ice-Candy Man

  1. mrinal says:

    I never heard about this movie or the book… but ur second last statement has piqued my interest in it. So now u r in India doing nothing ( 😉 ) should we expect more updates on this blog?

  2. sampada says:

    What makes you think I’m doing nothing? My schedule book is full with things like eat, sleep, relax, talk, lounge around, go for walks, don’t think, and did I mention eat?

    Although reading definitely features as a part of my routine before going to sleep. Might change things a bit and review a Marathi book I’m reading.

    You simply have to see the movie 1947 – Earth if not read the book. Let me know how you liked it, ok?

Leave a Reply

